Three U of A Students Recognized by the Udall Scholarship Foundation

Photo Submitted

Taylen Day

Three U of A students have been recognized by the Morris K. and Stewart L. Udall Scholarship Foundation for their commitment to environmental Sustainability or policy related to Native American nations, as well as demonstrated leadership connected to these issues on campus and in their communities.

Taylen Day, an honors junior from Arlington, Texas, was named after Morris K. and Stewart L. Udall Scholar. Hailey Hoog, an honors sophomore, and Jessica Shearman, an honors junior, were recognized as Honorable Mentions for the Udall Scholarship.

“The Udall Scholarship is a highly competitive scholarship, recognizing and supporting students who are interested in addressing significant issues connected to the environment or to Native American health care and tribal policy,” said interim Chancellor Charles Robinson. “These three students represent the various aspects of the Udall vision. Taylen Day and Hailey Hoog are both dedicated to Native American health care and to policy concerns. Jessica Shearman is interested in building communities focused on sustainable living. All three will make an important difference in their fields and will serve the members of their communities and the larger public good. Congratulations to these amazing students who embody the Udall values ​​of civilization, Integrity and Consensus. We look forward to seeing what more they will accomplish on our campus and beyond it. ”

The Morris K. and Stewart L. Udall Scholarship Foundation awarded 55 Merit-based Scholarships of up to $ 7,000 and 55 Honorable Mentions to college sophomores and Juniors this year. Students apply in the categories of environment or in Native American healthcare or tribal policy (students in this latter category must be Native American). Thirty-seven Scholarships were awarded in the environmental category, nine in tribal public policy and nine in Native health care.

Applicants go through a rigorous and limited Nomination process on their own campuses prior to having their applications submitted to the foundation.

This year’s Udall Scholars were selected from 382 candidates Nominated by 181 Colleges and Universities. Thirty-seven Scholars intend to pursue Careers related to the environment; 18 Native American / Alaska Native Scholars intend to pursue Careers related to tribal public policy or Native health care. Of the 55 selected, nine are sophomores and 46 are Juniors.

The annual Udall Scholar Orientation will be held in August. Scholars will meet and connect with program alumni, learn more about the Udall Legacy of public service and interact with community leaders in environmental fields, tribal health care and governance.


Majoring in Psychology, Day has been actively engaged in the Native American Student Association, Assisted in research in the DREAM lab and worked as president of the Volunteer Action Center. Off campus, she has also worked as an ophthalmic work up technician at Retina Partners of the NWA and a summer administrative intern at the Methodist Mansfield Medical Center.

“I am so Grateful to be part of the 2022 Udall Scholar class,” the day said. All of this would not be possible without the support I have received from my Mentors, family and friends. I cannot wait to represent the University of Arkansas and connect with fellow Udall Scholars across the country! “

Day’s professional aspirations are to serve as a medical doctor to the Native American population. More specifically, she wants to meet a great need within the community by working with Native American women as an OBGYN and also plans to use her work to raise awareness about the medical and mental health issues that Native American women have historically faced.

“Taylen Day has been an outstanding university citizen since the beginning of her studies at the University of Arkansas, serving as the director of communications at the U of A Native American Student Association, coordinating Volunteer activities for and chairing the Passionate about Literacy (PAL) group at the U of A’s Volunteer action center, serving as a history for the U of A’s premed honors society (Alpha Epsilon Delta), working as an ophthalmic technician, volunteering in my research lab and more, ”said Ana J. Bridges, Professor of Psychology and director of clinical training. “Taylen is eager to roll up her sleeves and do the challenging work of improving systems, and her work undoubtedly has had and will continue to have an important and lasting impact.”


Hoog, an honors Biomedical engineering major from Jenks, Oklahoma, has been involved with numerous campus groups including serving as the student engagement Outreach Coordinator for the Volunteer Action Center, the director of Open Access Resources for the Associated Student Government and the student Coordinator for Native American Initiatives in the Multicultural Center.

She is also active in Clubs such as the Native American Student Association, the Biomedical Engineering Society, the American Indian Science and Engineering Society and the Engineering Honors Research Program. She plans to attend medical school and serve as a physician for the Indian Health Service and work to improve areas of American Indian public policy as well.


Jessica Shearman, a native of Fayetteville, is an honors landscape architecture major and has been involved with numerous campus clubs including the American Planning Association, volunteered with the Fay Jones College career fair and worked as the treasurer and secretary of the American Society of Landscape Architects .

She plans to work in public policy with non-profits to Advocate for large-scale sustainable infrastructure projects with Sustainably minded designers and Planners.

Day, Hoog and Shearman will all become members of the Udall Alumni Association, connecting them to a large cohort of other Scholars and Honorable mention designees.

U of A students who are interested in applying for the Udall Scholarship should contact the Office of Nationally Competitive Awards at

About the U of A Udall Scholars: U of A has produced 11 Udall Scholars and 16 Honorable Mentions. The most recent Udall Scholars include Alexis Barber, Biological Engineering and Sustainability (environment focus), 2021; Elise N. Clote, agribusiness and marketing (tribal public policy focus), 2015; Michael Reinisch, chemical engineering and Physics (environment focus), 2015; Andrea Love, Agronomy and communication (environment focus), 2013; Mallory Scheurer, Nursing (tribal health care focus), 2012.

About the University of Arkansas: As Arkansas’ Flagship institution, the U of A provides an internationally competitive education in more than 200 academic programs. Founded in 1871, the U of A contributes more than $ 2.2 billion to Arkansas’ economy through the teaching of new knowledge and skills, entrepreneurship and job development, Discovery through research and creative activity while also providing training for professional disciplines. The Carnegie Foundation classifies the U of A among the top 3% of US Colleges and Universities with the highest level of research activity. US News & World Report Ranks the U of A among the top public Universities in the Nation. See how the U of A works to build a better world at Arkansas Research News.

Related Posts